关于马特

欢迎来到我的个人旅行博客“静物”。我是Matt,很高兴在这里见到您!

我是一位与模式无关的旅行者,写的是关于 澳大利亚 在一个 预算 巡航和健康生活的薄弱环节。我喜欢慢慢旅行,真正了解一个地方,看到经常在主要旅游路线上流连忘返的事物。

Matt at Orakei Korako Geothermal Park in New Zealand
马特(Mat)在位于Orakei Korako的地热公园 新西兰

我早在2006年就以个人博客的形式开始了Still As Life waaaaaay。随着时间的流逝,它逐渐演变成今天的旅行博客。你看,我小的时候,我的家人分散在周围 澳大利亚 所以我们旅行了很多来拜访所有人。我想你可以说我早点拿到了旅行虫。在开始写博客后不久,我注意到我正在写自己的旅行记录,在2010年与我未来的妻子会面之后,我们开始了更多的旅行。

自2012年以来,我们已经跨11种国家进行了21次以上的旅行,其运输方式超出了我的预期。从 飞机 从直升机到气垫船,这是一系列令人惊叹的旅程,因为我们已经在更远的地方探索并逐渐在世界范围内扩展。我们的某些旅行短暂,周末逍遥游,而另一些则是一个月或更长时间的逗留(例如我们度过的时间) 新西兰北岛32天).

Underwater Scooter Biking in Bora Bora
博拉博拉岛的水下滑板车自行车

问题是,我不是旅游博客,这不是我的工作。当然,我从广告和会员链接中赚了几美元(实际上,如果您想提供帮助,可以查看 本文),但我不会以此为生,也从未打算这样做。我和我的妻子只喜欢旅行。

我经营一家名为 TerraMedia,我的日常工作。在我的工作之间,我们抓住一切机会旅行!有时候,这意味着我确实必须在旅途中登录并工作,但我们的目标不是去旅行的任何地方,而是享受上帝为我们创造的世界,并记录我们的旅行,以期帮助他人他们旅行的方式与我们相同。

Matt at Taku Glacier, Alaska
马特在阿拉斯加的塔库冰川

那么,为什么我要写?

我们旅行的次数越多,我们发现的旅行内容就越多,可以通过以下两种方式之一来编写:

  1. 数字游牧民–由经常旅行并在出行途中找到工作方式的人们撰写,通常是通过写博客。通常,他们是为渴望做同样的事情的人写的。这不是我们旅行的方式,尽管它们的内容通常很棒,但实际上并不是为我们编写的。
  2. 偶尔旅行的人-通常全职工作且可休假有限的人。像这样的旅行者的大部分作品都是短途旅行,是基于在短时间内塞满了很多活动。

我们介于两者之间。开展业务,我们都可以随心所欲地随心所欲地旅行,但当然,如果我们不完成工作,那么我们就没有钱。因此,我们会在自由与自由之间取得平衡,同时始终回到我们的总部 澳大利亚,我们与猫印加生活在一起。我承认,我们特别喜欢公路旅行和巡游,但是最后。那天,我们真的很喜欢将自己沉浸在一个地方,并真正了解该地区和人民。

Matt at the Cave Entry, Caves Beach
马特在洞穴入口处 洞穴海滩

虽然此博客最初是作为个人博客开始的,它记录了我的生活,例如大学学习,技术选择,餐馆访问和我们的假期,但它已发展成为我们旅行的日记,我们喜欢和不喜欢的事物,当然还有我们所做的旨在帮助我们沿途旅行的事情。

Sled Dog Mushing at Skagway, Alaska
雪橇犬在阿拉斯加史凯威

那么,回到这个问题,我为什么要写?

老实说,我喜欢写作。我发现它是一个了不起的创意出口,尤其是在没有完成工作时。既然我们在旅行中拍了很多照片(以及最近拍摄的视频),它可以使博客完美结合,并且我真的希望我写的内容对生活与我们相似并且希望找到自己的人有所帮助出行方式更多。

我们看到了全世界吗?不,无处可去。不过,我们已经看到了一些很棒的地方,我喜欢与您分享。我特别喜欢在我们参观的许多地方尝试新菜并体验新文化。

Matt riding a camel at Uluru
马特在乌鲁鲁骑骆驼

也许最大的挑战是我喜欢做很多事情,而且我一直在寻找自己想尝试的新事物。

由于在所罗门群岛度过了三个星期,在 所罗门岛基督复临安息日会 通过《写大洋洲》,我爱太平洋岛屿英语克里奥尔语,并希望了解更多。然后有食物! Wantoks,mi barava tumas kaikai! 所罗门群岛人知道如何种植和烹饪出色的食物,在霍尼亚拉时,我尝试了37种不同的香蕉,有些以Motu(传统的烹饪方法,用香蕉叶包裹在带有热石子的坑中)烹饪,许多原料,我什至无法开始告诉您菠萝和木瓜在那边有多好。我什至不喜欢木瓜!但是,我离题了。

Matt Drinking A Fresh Cut Coconut in the Solomon Islands
马特在所罗门群岛喝鲜切椰子

到目前为止,我们的旅行在哪里?

除了很多短短的一两天的行程外,以下是需要较长时间或涉及飞机或轮船的较大行程。

2012

  • 澳大利亚: 西澳大利亚珀斯的4天城市住宿
  • 日本: 本州十日游

2013

  • 澳大利亚: 塔斯马尼亚霍巴特市3天城市住宿
  • 新西兰: 1个月 新西兰 南北岛公路旅行(我们的蜜月旅行)

2014

  • 澳大利亚: 通过袋鼠岛大洋路之旅,阿德莱德至墨尔本10天

2015

  • 所罗门群岛: 用书面大洋洲录制所罗门岛GodPod的21天旅行
  • 加拿大和美国: 18天加拿大公路旅行和阿拉斯加巡游
  • 澳大利亚: 6天 悉尼 塔斯马尼亚游轮
  • 澳大利亚: 维多利亚州墨尔本市4天城市住宿

2016

2017

  • 新喀里多尼亚和瓦努阿图: 太平洋岛9日游
  • 新西兰,法属波利尼西亚和美国: 悉尼至20天 夏威夷 游轮和檀香山市住宿
  • 日本: 13天 日本 旅行(包括 北海道六日游 和5天 东京 城市住宿)

2018

2019

  • 新西兰: 10天 新西兰 巡航
  • 澳大利亚: 2天纳马吉露营之旅
  • 澳大利亚: 4天伊甸游轮
  • 新喀里多尼亚: 太平洋岛7日游

我推荐过的地方

zh_CN简体中文
en_AUEnglish (Australia) es_ESEspañol ja日本語 zh_CN简体中文

About Matt

Welcome to Still As Life, my personal travel blog. I’m Matt, and it’s a pleasure to see you here!

Matt at Orakei Korako Geothermal Park in New Zealand
Matt at Orakei Korako Geothermal Park in New Zealand

I started Still As Life waaaaaay back in 2006 as a personal blog. Over time, that slowly evolved into the travel blog it is today. You see, as a child, my family was widely dispersed around Australia so we travelled a LOT to visit everyone. I guess you could say I got the travel bug early. Soon after starting my blog I noticed I was writing about my travels, and in 2010 after meeting my future wife, we began travelling even more.

Since 2012, we’ve made more than 21 different trips to 11 countries across so many more modes of transport than I ever expected to experience. From ships to planes to helicopters to hovercrafts, it’s been a series of amazing trips as we’ve explored further afield and gradually gotten further around the world. Some of our trips are short, weekend getaways and others are sojourns of a month or more.

Underwater Scooter Biking in Bora Bora
Underwater Scooter Biking in Bora Bora

The thing is, I’m not a travel blogger, this isn’t my job. Sure, I make a few bucks from ads and affiliate links (in fact if you want to help out, you can check this article), but I don’t make a living from it and never intended to. My wife and I just love to travel.

I run a digital marketing business called TerraMedia, my day job. In between my work though, we take every opportunity we can get to travel! Sometimes that means I do have to log on and work while we are on a trip, but our goal isn’t to work everywhere we go, but rather enjoy the world that God created for us, and document our trips to hopefully help out others who travel the same way we do.

Matt at Taku Glacier, Alaska
Matt at Taku Glacier, Alaska

So, why do I write?

The more we travel, the more we’ve discovered that a lot of travel content is written in one of two ways:

  1. Digital nomads – written by people who travel constantly and find ways to work while they are on the move, often by blogging. Typically, they write for people who aspire to do the same thing they do. This isn’t the way we travel, and while their content is often great, it isn’t really written for us.
  2. The occasional traveller – people who typically work full-time and have limited leave available to travel. Most of the writing for travellers like this is shorter trips and is based on cramming heaps of activities into a short amount of time.

We fit somewhere in between. Running a business, we both have the flexibility to travel when we want for as long as we want, but of course, if we don’t get the work done, we don’t have any money. So we balance this freedom and travel as much as possible, while always coming back to our home base in Australia, where we live with our cat, Inca. I’ll admit, we are especially fond of road trips and cruising, but at the end of. the day, we really love to immerse ourselves in a place and really get to know both the area and the people.

Matt at the Cave Entry, Caves Beach
Matt at the Cave Entry, Caves Beach

While this blog started originally as a personal blog, documenting aspects of my life like university studies, tech choices, restaurant visits and our holidays, it has evolved into a journal of our trips, the things we like and dislike, and of course, the things we do to help facilitate travelling the way that we do.

Sled Dog Mushing at Skagway, Alaska
Sled Dog Mushing at Skagway, Alaska

So, back to that question, why do I write?

Honestly, I enjoy writing. I find it to be an amazing creative outlet, especially when it isn’t done for work. Since we take so many photos (and more recently videos) on our travels, it makes for the perfect combination of blogging, and I really hope that what I write is helpful for other people who live a similar lifestyle to us and are looking to find ways to travel more.

Have we seen the whole world? No, nowhere close. We have seen some amazing places though, and I love sharing them with you. I especially love trying new food and experiencing new cultures in the many places we visit.

Matt riding a camel at Uluru
Matt riding a camel at Uluru

Perhaps the biggest challenge though is that I love to do so many things, and I’m always finding new things I want to try.

Since spending three weeks in the Solomon Islands working on the Solomon Island GodPod recordings at the Solomon Island Adventist Mission with It Is Written Oceania, I’ve loved Pacific Island English Creole languages and want to learn more. Then there is the food! Wantoks, mi barava tumas kaikai! The Solomon Islanders know how to grow and cook amazing food, I tried 37 different varieties of bananas while I was in Honiara, some cooked in a motu (a traditional way of cooking wrapped in banana leaves in a pit with hot stones), many raw, and I can’t even begin to tell you how good the pineapple and pawpaw is over there. I don’t even like pawpaw! But, I digress.

Matt Drinking A Fresh Cut Coconut in the Solomon Islands
Matt Drinking A Fresh Cut Coconut in the Solomon Islands

Where have our travels taken us so far?

In addition to lots and lots of short one and two-day trips, below are the bigger trips that required longer time or involved a plane or ship.

2012

  • Australia: 4-day city stay in Perth, Western Australia
  • Japan: 10-day Honshu trip

2013

  • Australia: 3-day city stay in Hobart, Tasmania
  • New Zealand: 1 month New Zealand North & South Island road trip (our honeymoon)

2014

  • Australia: 10-day Adelaide to Melbourne via Kangaroo Island Great Ocean Road trip

2015

  • Solomon Islands: 21-day trip to record the Solomon Island GodPod with It Is Written Oceania
  • Canada & USA: 18-day Canada road trip and Alaska cruise
  • Australia: 6-day Sydney to Tasmania cruise
  • Australia: 4-day city stay in Melbourne, Victoria

2016

2017

  • New Caledonia & Vanuatu: 9-day Pacific Island cruise
  • New Zealand, French Polynesia & USA: 20-day Sydney to Hawaii cruise and Honolulu city stay
  • Japan: 13-day Japan trip (including 6-day Hokkaido Roadtrip and 5-day Tokyo city stay)

2018

2019

  • New Zealand: 10-day New Zealand cruise
  • Australia: 2-day Namadgi camping trip
  • Australia: 4-day Eden cruise
  • New Caledonia: 7-day Pacific Island cruise

Leave a comment

en_AUEnglish (Australia)
es_ESEspañol en_AUEnglish (Australia)